The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
GROUNDING PLEASE HELP!!!
Old 20th January 2007
Gear Addict

GROUNDING PLEASE HELP!!!

Hi I gonna use a garage for my studio.
I found out that seems is not ground.

Any suggestions?
A friend told me that the ground could be connected to the metal boxes that hold the switches and power outlets...any good way to find out that?

There is any device like a monster Cable/Furman that connecting all your gear there you would not need ground?

Please help would be very welcomed!
Old 20th January 2007
Lives for gear

If wired with romex the box will not be grounded.
The best is to run a new 12/2 with ground to the panel.
One circuit will be plenty, unless you have a 40 channel SSL...
Old 20th January 2007
Gear Addict

Hi!! do you mean to the main switch??
Romex? please if you can explain that with more detail..i am not very good with that type of electrical installations!!
Thanks!!!thumbsup
Old 20th January 2007

Absolutely hire an electrician to sort this out for you. This isn't something to mess with if you are not familiar with electrical wiring. It isn't "rocket science" but it is potentially deadly/disastrous if you are trying to "solve" something that you don't have the training to deal with.
Old 20th January 2007
Lives for gear

I'm an electrician,

Judging by your lack of knowledge in the issue prompts me to tell you to get a liscenced electrician to help you out.

Without a ground, if you get a short anywhere, and you're touching it, you'll be the new path to ground and get a shock.

It only takes a few milliamps to kill you.

I can't see it costing too much to run a few cables to your studio outlets and make sure they are grounded.