The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
good preamp for recording synths and keyboards
Old 15th January 2007
Here for the gear

good preamp for recording synths and keyboards

Hi to everyone!

I'm new here.

I'm not a good engineer, I'm mostly a songwriter and producer.

I need to buy a good preamp (2 channels) for recording synthesizers (both analog and digital) into PT with 888/24.
My budget is around 3.000 EUR (3,800 USD).

Someone told me Neve 1073 DPA, some other Millennia TD1 (x2), someone Focusrite Liquid channel (x2) and so on...

Does anyone have a suggestion?

Many thanks
Old 15th January 2007

Hmm, what kind of synths? If they have digital outs don't even use a pre, just go direct. If you're using some older analog synths pres I've used or heard that I liked were the Neve 1073 (nice low end, really made an old mini moog come to life), Chandler Germaium, and for a strong, cleaner sound, the Avalon 2022. API 312 will certainly do the job too. Just remember that everyone's ears are a bit different. Try out a few units if you can before you make your decision.

Again, some synths won't need a pre. My Roland V Synth can light up a signal path like a Christmas tree with the volume on 2. By far the hottest output I ever had on a keyboard. Direct in was certainly the best for that type of synth.
Old 16th January 2007
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pericles View Post
Hmm, what kind of synths? If they have digital outs don't even use a pre, just go direct. If you're using some older analog synths pres I've used or heard that I liked were the Neve 1073 (nice low end, really made an old mini moog come to life), Chandler Germaium, and for a strong, cleaner sound, the Avalon 2022. API 312 will certainly do the job too. Just remember that everyone's ears are a bit different. Try out a few units if you can before you make your decision.