The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Debating on my front end Single-Channel Preamps
Old 10th October 2015
Gear Nut

Debating on my front end

Ok slutz, this might get messy but i'll shoot anyway.

I am a young aspiring producer who is caught in a very bad thinking cycle, looking for a little advice that may help my situation which is looking for something to get me out of that sterile sound thats been haunting me for years now. Now according to my gear, I've narrowed it down to..... 4 options (you could throw in more if seems fit, followed by a good argument off course):

Option 1: Pre such as a Heritage Audio TT73 paired with a Warm wa76 comp.
Option 2: 2 x tb12 Tonebeasts + wa76 (for stereo duties, guitars mostly occasionally overheads/strings)
Option 3: a Heritage Audio dma-73 pre OR a Pacifica (for the same stereo duties)
Option 4: a mic such as a cu29 Copperhead + 1 TT73/(tb12 + wa76)

It looks like the old mathematics class I know...

Gear is:
Charteroak e700
Pair of Beyer mc930
Shure sm7b

All going through the mr816x, I will not abide to any "but you can't bypass the pre's on that interface!" nonsense, unless you really think it's fullsense.

You have got to do me this one!
Old 10th October 2015
Lives for gear

Going the neve type route would be a good choice. Lots of options, heritage, bae, great river, rnd, avedis depending on what specifically you are going to record.
Old 10th October 2015
Gear Nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyc View Post
Going the neve type route would be a good choice. Lots of options, heritage, bae, great river, rnd, avedis depending on what specifically you are going to record.
Alright yes that's my direction regarding a pre but is that the best route from all the options I listed? Stereo preamp?
Thanks
Old 10th October 2015
Gear Addict