The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Advice regarding pres and ADAT expansion (Audient, Focusrite, ART, UA...)
Old 8th October 2015
Gear Head

Advice regarding pres and ADAT expansion (Audient, Focusrite, ART, UA...)

Hi, folks! I´m a newbie here! First of all, sorry for my English...

I´ve been reading the forum for several weeks now trying to clear up my mind, and each time I enter I become more confused :D

I would like to seek advice from you, so I´ll explain my situation:

I run a home studio, Jotun Studio, and I own some decent but not too fancy pieces of equipment: Focusrite Scarlett 18i20, Fractal Audio Axe FX II, Event TR8 , Audio Technica ATH-M50 and mics like Audio Technica AT4040 & AT4041, Shure SM7B & SM57, AKG C1000S x2 & D112 & C518M x4 and a powerful PC and laptop.

I use this gear to record and mix the bands I work with (mostly metal and rock, but also pop and other genres), and I want some extra channels (the Scarlett´s 8 channels are not enough sometimes) but also wanted to add some warmth to my vocals.

The fact is that I had a TL Audio VP1 and sold it because I´m used to work in my DAW and all the extra features it had were too much.

So now I´m looking for an ADAT expansion and maybe a nice preamp. My budget is around 800 € (all prices are Euro from now on) and also using the minimum rack space possible should be a bonus (not a decissive factor, but I prefer the gear to be 1 unit if possible), since I have to move my equipment some times to record.

I´ve got to "narrow" my search and some of my ADAT options are:

- Audient ASP800 (all in one, since its retro channels add some character to the signal, and it´s said to have a high quality) 777 €
- Behringer ADA8200 or 8000 (despite Behringer´s reputation these pieces of gear seem to have a very good name) combined with a mic preamp. 212 / 157 (around 100 for an ADA8000 second hand)