The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Small Talkback Setup
Old 12th September 2015
Here for the gear

Small Talkback Setup

Hi Guys,
Newbie here w/ posting so forgive me if this is in the wrong place.

I've been combing these threads for months on various topics and one thing that's still a question to me is in regards to talkback.

We're a very small post facility that's building an even smaller VO booth for VO only and i've been forever trying to figure out an easy solution to implement the talkback feature.

Perhaps i'm overthinking this, and probably am, but I'm looking for a very simple item to talk to somebody in the booth from the control room/edit bay. I've looked at a ton of different products that have so many features that we don't need and wouldn't use and wanted your opinion.

The gist is... w/ an apollo 8, we don't want to use the console app but want to just hold down a button in order to talk to the booth. That's all. I'm probably missing something that's right in front of my face but haven't quite put my finger on it.

We're also in the market for some sort of hybrid telephone device but haven't been able to find the two in one deal w/ talkback.

Anybody have any suggestions? Thank you in advance.
Old 12th September 2015
Gear Addict

You could try a small recording mixer.
Mackie, Soundcraft, etc'.
You can run your apollo out to a few faders, with a talkback button that dims the monitors while you talk, all at a very low cost.

Alternatively grab a control room monitor like a Dangerous, Avocet, Control Station or Mackie Big Knob... they do all that stuff. There was a new desktop one quite reasonably priced in the new products forum just recently from memory

Old 12th September 2015
Lives for gear