The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
A Preamp can be a good idea? Studio Monitors
Old 22nd August 2015
A Preamp can be a good idea?

Hi all out there,
I'm a newbie both here at Gearslutz and also in recording/post-producing (started nearly a year ago ). Also, I apologize for my far-from-good english.

As today, I've the need to only record vocals (rap). I use a RODE NT2A mic plugged in a Scarlett 8i6 since I started. I'm not completely satisfied, the registrations are a bit harsh and with a noise floor (nothing to worry about too much, with the instrumental on can't be heard). Sadly, I record in my bedroom (an untreated environment), so probably the cause of the problems is exactly the room. But I can't treat my room at all, due to my parents.
Do you think a preamp (300/400€) will be a good idea to improve and to achieve a warmer sound or it will only create more noise and """confusion""" ?

Thanks
Old 22nd August 2015
Lives for gear

Make a couple of portable gobo's that you can put away when you're not recording. Even two mic stands with heavy blankets on them would dry up the room sound on your mic. Or products like the reflexion filter or realtraps pvb can really help.

The harshness problem is probably not caused by the room. Inexpensive mics/interfaces tend to be not as sweet in the high frequencies, but really experimenting with different mic placement and vocal technique is probably the key. Try the mic above, below, to the side of your mouth and see what sound you like. Experiment with distance - 6", 12", 24" from you. (hint, you won't be able to get farther away without gobo's like my first paragraph suggests). If it's sibilance, that's something you can work on with your vocal technique, but also look up things like the "pencil technique".