The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
What next? Overcoming analysis paralysis.
Old 16th July 2015
Gear Addict

What next? Overcoming analysis paralysis.

A little background; I've been making music, all in Logic Pro, for a few years now, in various different spaces. For the past year I've had the luxury of renting a house that actually has a partially treated, most soundproof, music room. I have no real aspirations, this is a hobby (mostly), that I enjoy. I enjoy learning and developing and, of course, I like gear.

The "problem"; what's next? I've slowly built up some decent enough gear and know how to use it (up to a point). But I'd like to take a next step, for quality, learning and variety (and fun).

What I do; record acoustic guitars, record electric guitars... and maybe a little vocals here 'n' there. Most of what I do ranges from atmospheric to folky to rocky (but not shred/metal). I'm not going to be recording acoustic drums or brass at this point in time.

What I have:
Mics: AT4041, Studio Projects B1, M-Audio Solaris, AKG C214, two SM57s.
Interface: Apogee Quartet
Monitors: Dyanudio BM5a and M-Audio 'grot boxes' through a Mackie Big Knob.
Outboard: Presonus Tube Pre, Radial PZ-Pre, VTBass Di, JDI and a bunch of electric guitar pedals.

I'm interested in ribbon mics, tube mics, getting a stereo pair, doing more M/S (I've done it with the Solaris and either the 214 or the 4041 so far). Maybe even playing around with Blumlein... I have a really tonally diverse collection of guitars from nylon string to resonator to vintage steel string. On the electric side I have a lot of different tones, too, from P-13 vintage to P-90 to humbuckers.