The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
A little help from the experts SM7B or other
Old 14th July 2015
Here for the gear

A little help from the experts SM7B or other

Good day peoples. I am just getting into recording from a long musical hiatus and would like to record my first album ASAP. But.... I cannot decide which mic is best. I am just learning to scream and growl and have work to do on my clean singing vocals as well. For this particular project I am aiming to do vocals similar to say Scar Symmetry or Soilwork: Half harsh vocals and they other half melodic cleans.

I just picked up a new SM7B as it seems it comes highly recommend for metal. Ive only had it for like 3 days and have only used it twice and ive learned a few things since then. One, I need a cloudlifter lol and Two, I don't know if I should keep it.

Since I haven't developed my voice as of yet I don't know if this mic will truly suit me and I am now worried of being stuck with a mic that cost me $425 hard earned Canadian dollars.

So my question is, if I wanted to record an album with the style of vocals listed above, should I return the SM7B for now and get something for half the price? until a later date where my singing and screaming voice is unleashed and then buy a better mic like the SM7B if it happens to work with my voice?
What are your suggestions for a mic that's around half the price that is:
A) Worth keeping if my voice pairs well with it or
B) Works well with what I will be using it for but wont lose my arse on if I have to upgrade a year down the road.

Your help would be greatly appreciated.
Old 14th July 2015
Lives for gear

Try to borrow some other mics,
and try them out.
Old 14th July 2015
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by G-Sun View Post
Try to borrow some other mics,
and try them out.
^^^ This! +1!