The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Soundtracs 24 Midi PC Console - PSU problems
Old 3rd January 2007
Gear Head

Soundtracs 24 Midi PC Console - PSU problems

Hi there everyone This is my first post - been looking at the site for a while now, extremely informative and has helped me many times - let's hope someone can help me with this issue - I've just come across something I could do with some expert advice on!

I'm relatively new to sound engineering and production (about 2 years), but I can tell you for free I'm getting in to it thick and fast. I have a part time job as a sound engineer at a local unsigned band venue, been recording a few band's albums (including some of my own band's songs) and been buying kit like it was free. Considering opening a studio at some point in the future too.

Anyway - enough about me! On to my issue...

I've just acquired a Soundtracs 24 Midi PC Console - the largest desk in my collection by far (and for a home studio with limited space, I think I have too many as it is! :P). However - I don't have a PSU for it :( I've written off to Soundtracs, who've referred me to "Studio Systems" who now deal with the support for all of their old analogue products. However - neither manufacturer can provide me with an original PSU.

Studio Systems have informed me they can make me one for a price costing more than the console's worth itself. Obviously not a risk I'm willing to take considering that I don't know if the console even works yet!

My question is this - are there any people out there who have a spare one of these, or anything similar that I can have modified to work with the Soundcraft Midi PC? It requires a 6 PIN DIN connection, +/-17v, 5v and +48v phantom. I've been informed that a A+H Sabre supply ot large Soundcraft 600 / 6000 PSU will do the trick...