The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Multimeter recommendations?
Old 29th May 2015
Gear Nut

Multimeter recommendations?

Hi all,
Looking for a relatively inexpensive multimeter for testing cables, 9v (and other) batteries, ect. I am pretty new in the technical aspects of my equipment, so I would like to get something that will have me covered if any situation comes up where it may be needed.

Here are the ones I am currently looking:
1) Innova 3220 Amazon.com: INNOVA 3320 Auto-Ranging Digital Multimeter: Automotive

2) Etekcity UT120C Etekcity UT120C Auto Ranging Digital Multimeter (DMM) Multi Tester Voltmeter Ammeter Ohmmeter - AC / DC Voltage & Current, Resistance, Continuity, Diodes Tester, Relative Measurement - - Amazon.com

3) Mastech MS8261 Amazon.com: Mastech MS8261 30-Range Full Featured Manual Digital Multimeter with Capacitance Measurement, MS8260 Series: Automotive

and a little more expensive:
4) Mastech MS8229 Amazon.com: Mastech MS8229 Auto-Range 5-in-1 Multi-functional Digital Multimeter: Industrial & Scientific

If there is something better out there that these one, please let me know!!

Thanks everyone, looking forward to your responses!!
-Count
Old 29th May 2015
Gear Head

I have the first one. Works well. Doesn't do capacitance, but I have another cheap meter for that.
Old 29th May 2015
Lives for gear

Don't know if it's any better. I have this as my cheap DMM.......
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0012VWR20/...3LCMZZCL&psc=1
Probably in a similar price range they'll be about the same. If you have a poor memory be sure to get one with an auto shutoff feature

I just realized I also have that Innova 3220. The only thing I don't care for is the red and green lettering isn't easy to see in dim lighting.
Old 29th May 2015
Lives for gear
If I may make a couple of points.