The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Duende, sounds great, but REALLY SUCKS, I MEAN - REALLY SUCKS
Old 27th December 2006
Lives for gear

Duende, sounds great, but REALLY SUCKS, I MEAN - REALLY SUCKS

I have given this piece of gear every possible chance I can. I have configured/reconfigured everything you can imagine. Call SSL Tech Support, you'll get a call back in a day or two and when they do talk to you you'll get canned responses. Question them, and you'll get a lot of attitude. I am a Tech Savvy guy and very patient. This unit has pushed me beyond the brink. If you have any other firewire devices, forget the Duende. If you have UAD, forget the Duende.

When it works, it sounds great, unfortunately for them, and me it rarely works. I know there are some users out there that are not experiencing the problems I am, but there are tons that are experiencing the same type issues as me. $1600.00 for a plugin, man that thing had better smoke, right out of the box. They obviously did not do their homework on this unit. By the time they get it right, you'll be able to run a million Waves SSL Eq's on your Mac, because by then, we will all be running 100 core duo Intel processors. Waves SSL and 10 years of WUP and your still cheaper than the Duende.

I hate the fact that this thing does not work.
Old 27th December 2006
Gear Nut

I have duende and 4 UAD cards and it works great. I notice they like each other better when you pull the UAD cards out of the MAC and into an expansion chasis. I am also using a RME fireface 800; the trick for me was the Drive issue. I was using FW drives and switched over to eSATA {pci} I am now getting better performance out my drives. If you look on the SSL's Mixbuss forum they have a posting on working setups. I am totally stoked with my setup, my mixes are sounding the best they have ever have....
Old 27th December 2006
Gear Maniac