The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Guitars for sale     Latest  Trending
Building New Housing for part of an Amp Head
Old 6th January 2015
Gear Head

Building New Housing for part of an Amp Head

My SUNN O))) Alpha 115 combo amp has a speaker that is much too large and loud for my current purposes, so I disconnected the head from the speaker to see how I could temporarily and safely keep the two separated. I found that the underbelly of the head (where it met the cab below it) is unprotected - all of the innards are exposed when the amp head is taken off.

I am thinking about building a wooden side for this underbelly to protect the innards, and I wanted to check if anyone had any tips, tricks, or advice for a project like this. I imagine simply covering the open side will suffice, but I have no experience doing this. I want to make sure that later I will be able to disconnect this newly made side so I can reattach the cab that came with it.
Old 7th January 2015

I've been thinking about this a lot lately (got a Tweed Deluxe chassis kit on the way...)

If you have tubes and caps that extend below the bottom, you need to create space for them (especially if they get hot). Ventilation may be required too.

In the end, building a new box that's the same except for the height is probably the best approach. Attach the chassis to it the same way as the stock box. Make sure to allow for ventilation if needed.

-tINY

Old 7th January 2015
Gear Head

It's a solid state amp, so there are no tubes to worry about. The original design made no effort to allow for ventilation. Is that also a design characteristic required mainly for tube amps?

Thanks for the insight.
Old 7th January 2015
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by hfdz0 View Post
It's a solid state amp, so there are no tubes to worry about. The original design made no effort to allow for ventilation. Is that also a design characteristic required mainly for tube amps?