The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Guitars for sale     Latest  Trending
Is a '59 Les Paul really any better than a modern one?
Old 21st November 2014
Gear Addict

Is a '59 Les Paul really any better than a modern one?

I've been following the Joe Bonnamassa thread, and naturally after a while it got to talking about his vintage Les Pauls.

I've long wondered why people get so hung up on the late '50's Gibsons - the way some people talk about them, you'd think they were actually magical.
On top of that, given their comparative scarcity and mammoth pricetag, how many of the people who rave about them have actually played one?

I make and repair guitars for a living, and have had plenty of Les Pauls through my workshop over the years, but I've never come accross any Les Pauls that are even remotely vintage (I do have a 1963 ES-330 in for a re-fret at present - flat out one of the finest guitars I've ever played). The closest I came was an early '90's '59 reissue, which to be fair was a very nice guitar indeed (I'm not a huge Les Paul fan - on the whole I think they're poorly made and inconsistant).

Anyway, to get to the point - from what I've read on the subject it seems Gibson let themselves down during the 1960's, and the guitars they produced thereafter where never as good.

I'm interested in 2 things:

1. How much better were the earlier guitars?
2. Why were they so much better?

As I mentioned I'm a luthier by trade, and know a thing or two about what makes a good guitar. Were they really that good, or have people just hyped them up over the years? The way some people go on you'd be forgiven for thinking no-one had made a decent guitar since.
Old 21st November 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingofspain View Post
I've been following the Joe Bonnamassa thread, and naturally after a while it got to talking about his vintage Les Pauls.