The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Guitars for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Bass - keyboard amp recommendations?
Old 7th August 2014
Gear Addict

Bass - keyboard amp recommendations?

As my studio space is now finished and i am in process of getting my amplification organized (I lived in condo for years, played everything thru monitors or headphones). With being able to play my acoustic drums at home (i've been a drummer for 36 + years), I would like to find a decent bass guitar amp. I mainly record bass DI. mostly to have something for when people come over to play. Some options I am looking at

1. I remember years ago makers selling Keyboard Bass amps. This is a possibility since I'm getting a Motif keyboard. I could kill 2 birds with one stone and not taking up the room

2. Old bass amps on craigslist are going cheap. I saw an old Yamaha head and cap in great working order for $200. This is an option

Opinions/advice/
Old 8th August 2014
Lives for gear

If the Yamaha is a BBT-series Bass amp and cab, go for it! They had some problems with the amps (hiss if I remember correctly), but the cabs alone are incredible good. Still use two BBT 1x10 cabs with my Markbass amp. Among the best bass speakers I'ver ever heard.

Otherwise it's hard to recommend something. You don't write anything about the price class.
Most bass amps are quite neutral and most bass speaker cabinets have a tweeter. So no matter what the amp says, you can use it as a keyboard amp, too.

Dirk
Old 9th August 2014
Lives for gear

small - peavey delta blues with 1x15
large - fender bassman with 8x10
Old 10th August 2014
Lives for gear