The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Guitars for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Taylor acoustic guitar for studio (mic/pickup question)
Old 4th September 2013
Here for the gear

Taylor acoustic guitar for studio (mic/pickup question)

Hi! I'm looking to buy a good acoustic guitar, and I've found I like the Taylor guitars quite a bit. I've tried a few guitars og different brands, and liked the cheap taylor guitars better than the expensive martin guitars. Thing is though, I'm a little worried how good the mics and pickups are in the different versions, and I have no experience with these whatsoever.

What kind of models would you recommend, and how expensive is it to change mics/pickups in a guitar? Any recommendations for a decent priced guitar with a GOOD microphone/pickup-setup?

Not interested in paying much more than, say, 1500 USD. (Keep in mind, I live in Norway, and everything is more expensive here!)
Old 4th September 2013
Subscribed.
I'm in a similar situation myself
Old 4th September 2013
Gear Nut

hello!!

I own a Taylor mini, and although it has a small body, it sounds bigger than most expensive guitars...really great zone!! it costs around only 500€...so there would be plenty of budget left for a classy pickup system... although I hope you dont want to use pickups for studio... sounds muuuuuch better with microphone!! but I guess you know this

cheers!!
Old 4th September 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by tidalwave View Post
hello!!

I own a Taylor mini, and although it has a small body, it sounds bigger than most expensive guitars...really great zone!! it costs around only 500€...so there would be plenty of budget left for a classy pickup system... although I hope you dont want to use pickups for studio... sounds muuuuuch better with microphone!! but I guess you know this

cheers!!