The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
ECM recording techniques
Old 23rd August 2010
Gear Maniac
ECM recording techniques

I've been revisiting a lot of the ECM albums in my collection and I keep being blown away by the realism and clarity of the recordings. I was wondering if anyone here has any information about the mics/techniques that were used on these. The Charles Lloyd albums with Billy Higgins on drums particularly stand out to me as do all of the Tomasz Stanko albums. Thanks!
Old 25th August 2010
Here for the gear

ECM recording techniques

Hi! I'm an official ECM sound engineer that works for and with Manfred Eicher, in my opinion one of the most important producers in the world. He was and is a very innovator in this kind of music and his idea of sound is really distintive. I recorded a Lot of albums here in Italy in my down studio and around in Europe. I started in 2003 with the album of Enrico Rava "Easy Living" and in 2008 arrived a Grammy Nomination for Best Vocal Album with the cd of Norma Winstone "Distances". All recorded, mixed and mastered in Udine (Italy). The very important thing for this sound are:
A-music at all
B-musicians at all
C-space where done the recording
D-Manfred Eicher
E-engineer and gear
Everytime is a pleasure to' record musicians like these, sound is really simple to' do. Put good mics like Shoeps, Neumann, Akg, Dpa and others, good preamps, never compressore or just a touch and the final reverb from Lexicon L480 or the new Bricasti M7. On master just a little limiter to' control some peaks. Never that everynody can do. It is the ability of Manfred, to' sign the way and put the right ingredents in the right parts. Working with Manfred is an incredible thing: everytime I learn a lot of things, and I'm really proud to' work with. Just an episode: