The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Guitars for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
fingerpicks or bare fingers???? Studio Headphones
Old 29th March 2010
Gear Addict
fingerpicks or bare fingers????

I want to learn how to fingerpick 6 string (steel string folk) acoustic guitar.
I am looking for any experiences by anybody out there as to whether I should try to learn to use fingerpicks (thumbpick and 3 fingerpicks).
I am checking out a website where the guy insists that fingerpicks is by far the best way to do it.
my gut tells me that it will never work for me. I'm too uncoordinated.
I've been playing for over 30 years (off and on). I play with my bare hands. I trim my nails because they're so soft they just break if I try to grow them out.
any and all thoughts greatly appreciated. style of music is james taylor and really any ballady kind of stuff from the 20's up to the present.
thanks,
Charlie
Old 29th March 2010
Lives for gear

I've played for 25 years and I don't think I've ever met anyone who used three finger picks instead of traditional fingerstyle. I've seen lots of guys who use a thumb pick but no one who used three finger picks. I'm from Mississippi and Texas - two places where fingerstyle guitar are quite prevalent - and I think I would've met someone in all my years playing.

Hell, maybe he's right - I don't know. Or maybe he thinks that fingernails are for sissies.
Old 29th March 2010
Lives for gear

I use fingers.

For soft nails use a nail strengthener or clear (matte not gloss unless you swing that way) nail polish.
Old 29th March 2010
Lives for gear
JT used to use super glue.