The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Bass guitar unwanted distortion??
Old 13th November 2009
Gear Nut

Bass guitar unwanted distortion??

So I bought a new Dean 5 string bass a few months ago, been working well. Doesn't get used too much, but it has been good to me till now. I started getting distortion from it when used with a GTQ2 d/i into my 003. I have the input on the GTQ2 on low and the gain on the bass turned up, vice versa. The output gain turned down, up. I've basically tried just about every gain possibility I can think of. Opened the back of the bass up, changed out the preamp battery, looked around for any loose connections, recovered it and now I get no signal, but a super loud high pitch beep when the gain on the bass is turned up.

I'm just learning to play bass again, played a little when I was in HS, so I wasn't looking change out any components just yet unless they need it. Anyone ever experience this? Thanks
Old 13th November 2009
Gear Nut

So i got it to work great for 5 minutes before it gradually started to distort, then start cutting out then not play at all.
Old 16th November 2009
Gear Guru

Bad battery, bad connection to battery, bad ground, bad or loose input jack.

Try another few guitar cables?

Run it into a normal amp.

Any chance your interface has a bad connection?
Old 17th November 2009
Gear Maniac

If it worked for 5 minutes, then degraded again. That sounds like you replaced your battery with a bad one.
Old 19th November 2009
Gear Nut

Thanks for the help guys. I replaced the battery again with another new. This one lasted for a good 30 minutes before it started distorting and eventually cutting out. Is this normal drain time for the battery? I didn't even bother registering it and now I'm pretty sure I might have a preamp problem. Any suggestions?
Old 19th November 2009
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kno1 View Post