The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Guitars for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Fender Blues Jr OR Laney vc15 110? Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 12th September 2007
Gear Addict

Fender Blues Jr OR Laney vc15 110?

Hey Gearslutz.

I'm currently getting rid of my 10 yr old.. 1st amp ever... fender ultimate chorus 360W. Its solid State and i'm taking the plunge to tube. Admitedly it does have a nice clean sound but hopefully my new tube practice amp will fit the bill.

This is for my home/project studio. I've been using my PodXt until now for gtr recordings. Easily the weakest part of my chain. and I'm a flippin guitarist!

So.. Whatcha reckon... They're both similarily priced.
I need something versatile with luvely tube warmth.

I've tried the laney vc15 110 and it was pretty sweet. The store doesn't have the fender in stock so no go there.

Whatcha reckon?

I need clean, and a little bit dirty. I've got a TONEBONE Trimode tube distortion pedal for my dirt.

Anyone tried both?
Old 13th September 2007
Lives for gear

No experience with the Laney......but you may want to look at the Fender Pro Jr. as opposed to the BJ.
Old 13th September 2007
Lives for gear

I'd go for the Laney. Hard to beat for the money.
Old 13th September 2007
Gear Addict

I really want to aplaude your descision to upgrade. You're doing the right thing, but are those your only choices? The problem with the BJ or pro jr. or hot rod whatever is that they sound kinda close. . .There are issues with the speakers and transformers, not so much in reliability as in performance. These amps are way to bright!

I've always been a fan of the Laney sound ever since Vinnie Moore had those white ones. These days however, I think there might be some reliability issues.