The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Guitars for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Upgrade caps in Les Paul, SG, Tele..worth it?
Old 31st August 2007
Lives for gear

Upgrade caps in Les Paul, SG, Tele..worth it?

I have very little knowledge or education on the subject of the merits of higher-quality and/or esoteric capacitors for guitars.

I've read a little here and there, I also spoken briefly with my luthier about it. I've started researching (today) the different caps available. It *seems* like there can be an improvement in tone and performance for a relatively small outlay of cash.

My luthier said he could purchase and install upgraded caps for My Les Paul, SG, Epiphone Jorma Kaukonen and Telecaster all 4 for under $125 (including labor). Seems worthit , to me, IF there is a noticeable improvement

I'd love to hear from any guitar slutz here, about how/why/what capacitor upgrades can do for a guitar AND some recommendations on good ones for particular guitars. Seems like people like Bumblebees quite a bit...but I am a complete noob on this subject.

Thanks in advance!
Old 31st August 2007
Lives for gear

You can get Mallory 150 series caps for a few pennies.
Old 31st August 2007
First off, those caps are used in the tone cut controls, a classic low pass filter. Better caps won't do anything there but empty your wallet. Better yet, get some no load tone pots from Fender and hear the extra clarity of switching out that tone control. Next, replace those carbon volume pots with the new conductive plastic Bourns guitar pots from Mouser. They are around $20 each but worth it more than any tone pot cap.

Jim Williams
Audio Upgrades
Old 31st August 2007
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Williams View Post