The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Guitars for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Differences between Fender Musicmaster and Mustang Basses?
Old 29th August 2007
Lives for gear

Differences between Fender Musicmaster and Mustang Basses?

I found both of them quite cheap and was wondering how they both sound compared to the P and J basses?
Old 31st August 2007
Gear Addict

My biggest gripe about them is that they are short scale. I cant play short scale basses, i feel like they are a toy. They have completley different pickups so i wouldnt expect them to sound much like a jazz or a p. Ive played them but never plugged in. If you can get past the short scale they are probably pretty cool basses.
Old 31st August 2007
Lives for gear

Very first bass guitar I ever played, way back in 1974, was a Mustang. Used that bass in my band for about 6 months when I was 13 years old. Four years later I got a Musicmaster bass, used that for another six months or so.

If I never play another entry-level Fender bass in my life, it'll be too soon.

Those things are pigs. And not necessarily because they're short-scale; there are a few 30" scale basses I've played that are cool for a variety of idiosyncratic reasons. But those Fenders just kinda go "blah" when you pluck their strings. No punch, no twang, just a false sense of deep that's only seems like it's low because it's got a really disproportionate balance of upper partials. I guess the nicest thing I could say about them is that they're cleaner than an EB-x series Gibson...but they have none of the character of those basses

(which are also pigs imho, but that's for another thread)

But enough nostalgia: a Mustang and/or a Musicmaster sound NOTHING like a Precision or Jazz Bass. Nothing.
Old 3rd September 2007
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Ross View Post