The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
applying copper tape directly to a humbucker?
Old 30th July 2020
applying copper tape directly to a humbucker?

this is kind of a theoretical question, but after shielding my cavities and single coils, i read this article about shielding humbuckers with copper tape and a cover. and i guess my question is this:

if the tape is not in contact with the magnets or solder lugs, and is grounded, what purpose does the cover actually serve? potentially a stupid question. as the article explains, you want to make an H pattern of tape on the inside of a wooden or plastic cover. why wouldn't you just apply that pattern directly to the plastic? i've had trouble with microphonic covers in the past, and the H-style pickup covers i've seen for sale seems like they have potential to vibrate, just resting on top of the humbucker.

admittedly i'm a terrible student of electricity, just trying to understand the situation. tape seems like the simplest way to do this to me. my rehearsal space has a ton of noise in it and i'm going to be micing the amps and doing a record in there shortly. i have ebtech hum-x installed, there's no ground loop.
Old 30th July 2020
Gear Guru

I think what he’s saying is to do with replacing the metal shielding cover in a hum bucker. the Filter’Tron geometry is used as an an example to copy. but you use a plastic cover and line it with copper tape and copy the geometry of the Filter’Tron. because he’s claiming this design breaks up the eddy currents which a full metal humbucker housing produces in the way it alters the magnetic field.

presumably the housing is to soak up external electrical interference, then the metal converts it to a voltage and it’s allowed to run to ground.
Old 30th July 2020
Lives for gear