The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
'Flatwound' strings questions...
Old 23rd July 2020
Gear Addict

'Flatwound' strings questions...

Hi all,

I'm using more and more my bass these days, even if I'm more a (mediocre) guitarist. IOW, I have no consistent background/experience, when bass playing is involved.

I feel like I have a persisting problem with the scraping noise of the strings when playing my present Epiphone Korina Explorer bass. More practice will probably partially solve this, but still... Beside this, I like playing this instrument and its overall tone in several 'musical contexts', but sometimes, I feel like I need a more 'rounded' sound, with less mediums from it, and never really get it, actually, unless using a drastic tone correction which isn't really satisfying. Difficult to describe, and it's as subjective as can be...

So, I was wondering to which point flatwound strings wouldn't help, here, as the strings I am using presently are round nickel ones. From which, three questions :
- To which point flatwound strings could change the overall tone of an instrument to something with less mediums, and help solving the strings noise ?
- I see that some strings manufacturers (D'Addario...) make 'semi-flat' strings : to which point this could be a worthwhile compromise ?
- At contrary, is it worth having two basses on the long run, one having flatwound strings, the other staying with round ones ? I was thinking about something like a Precision bass, in this case, or an equivalent.

Thanks for any advice...
Old 23rd July 2020
Gear Maniac

Flatwounds will could solve both problems for you. They tend to put more emphasis on the fundamentals and reduce string noise greatly.
In my (very humble) opinion flatwounds are suitable for all types of music, as long as you don't want to slap.

Whether it is exactly what you need is hard to answer. The only way to find out is by trying them.