The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Stupid question: Do I need an amp? (Why?)
Old 20th July 2020
Here for the gear

Stupid question: Do I need an amp? (Why?)

Hi fellow noise makers,

I've been making songs with my computer and a moog synth for a few years... I guess you could say what I do is some kind of indie pop / synth-pop. I had some experience playing guitar and bass, but since the lockdown started I got more serious with it and have been practicing every day, I'm getting to a point where I could start recording and adding guitars to some of my tracks.

I have a 2-channel Focusrite 2 interface and 5" monitors that I use for practicing and recording/mixing. I also have a PA (8 channel mixer and 2 Mackie 12" speakers) that I use for playing at small parties sometimes or for rehearsing when I want a more real experience. I've been plugging my guitar and bass to those systems, sometimes adding effects through my DAW, and I've been pretty with the results so far.

Here comes my question: will it make any difference if I have an amp? Why? Also, is it going to make recordings better somehow?

Finally, if you have good reasons for me getting an amp... is there one that you could recommend that I can use both for guitar and bass (not at the same time, obviously)? I almost just hit "checkout" on a Yamaha THR10, but I thought I'd ask here first... is it a good idea?

Thanks!!
Old 20th July 2020
Lives for gear

Use the instrument input on your interface or a D.I. box. A guitar output needs to be plugged into something with 1meg Ohm input impedance or it will sound very dark. What do you want the amp to do? Clean guitar? Slightly overdriven guitar? Please describe.
Old 20th July 2020
Here for the gear

I think it will be mostly clean guitar and bass, I add effects on the DAW after recording... but it's mostly just subtle reverb and eq.