The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Looking for JMP-1 settings advices
Old 21st May 2020
Here for the gear

Looking for JMP-1 settings advices

I'm pretty new to the Marshall JMP-1, and I'm looking for a tone close to Deftones on the Around the Fur/White Pony era. I use EMG 81/85 pickups, got a Spark mini-booster and a Boss OD-3 if that helps. The master out of the JMP is going into my audio interface, and I use Mercuriall Reaxis as power amp simulation and NadIR as IR loader.

This guy nails it in my opinion, but he uses an Axe FX with the JMP emulation :
https://soundcloud.com/jonsymonsmusi...oh-dzl-g12k100

That's the kind of stuff I want to get close to. My tone always get too scooped, too harsch...

Detailled settings would be greatly appreciated !

Thanks a lot, have a nice day
Old 26th May 2020
Something is not right with your impulse cabs, the JMP-1 has a ton of midrange, even more mids if you use OD2, I have to scoop the mids in my JMP-1 or else it's too much midrange, I usually crank the highs and lows and leave the mids at -3
Old 27th May 2020
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mario-C. View Post
Something is not right with your impulse cabs, the JMP-1 has a ton of midrange, even more mids if you use OD2, I have to scoop the mids in my JMP-1 or else it's too much midrange, I usually crank the highs and lows and leave the mids at -3
Ok, what IR do you think of ? And what about the gain and presence setting ?
Old 28th May 2020
Quote:
Originally Posted by el_narvalo View Post
The gain and presence settings will depend on your guitar, your strings, and the way you play.

My advice to you is to just play around with the knobs until you find something that sounds like what you want. You'll learn a lot more than asking strangers on the internet who aren't you, don't have your guitar, etc, etc.

Last edited by John Eppstein; 29th May 2020 at 12:46 AM..
Old 28th May 2020
Quote: