The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
T-Type Chapman vs Fender vs something else
Old 1 week ago
Gear Head

Smile T-Type Chapman vs Fender vs something else

I have been saving some money to buy a t-type guitar.
I am a graphic designer, and as hollow as this sounds, the looks of the guitar are quite important to me.

I really like how the Chapman Guitars ML3 Pro Modern Dark Cherry looks and i have seen some videos, read some reviews and it seems like a really cool guitar.
The thing is it has two humbuckers, instead of the traditional t-type guitars singlecoils.

they do have a ML3 Traditional with Singlecoils, but with a bit less "bells and whistles" (for instance no coil tapping,...).

I have currently an Epiphone LP and i am looking for a guitar that is a step up, that is nice to play and it would be great if it is versatile.

Of course for that price (about 850€) there are lots of other t-type guitar options, for instance from Fender.

I think in the end i will have to go to some shop and just try them out, but before i go i would love to know what you think about it, and i am glad about any advice you might give me.
Old 1 week ago
Gear Head

As an after-thought, does anyone know if for instance at Thomann it is possible to try out several guitar of the same model and then choose the one we enjoy the best (instead of trying the one they have on display and then get a random one from the warehouse)?
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

For quality, I would personally look at Fender, G&L (American made series) Suhr, or Tom Anderson for a Tele.

Try to get something not made in Indonesia or Korea. Which is where most or all Chapman’s are made.

Although you can find decent quality for the price it usually falls short, long term or maybe even long term. And you’ll squally have to pick through multiple guitars even then, just to find a good one.