The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Guitars for sale     Latest  Trending
Save my marriage...or at least her sanity
Old 2nd September 2019
Here for the gear

Save my marriage...or at least her sanity

Hello everyone. I recently started playing guitar...been a bass player for years. Pedals are new to me. I bought a Supro Thunderbolt amp, Jekyll and Hyde Distortion/Overdrive pedal and a Hall of Fame 2 Reverb.
The Supro is awesome but really loud. The wife said get headphones or turn it off!!!
I get it. She wants to watch Hallmark, I want to practice some G&R. The two don't mix well in an open air house where you can hear a fly fart across the house.
So like they say, if momma ain't happy then no one is happy.
Can you please help figure this out?
I've got a Behringer 502 mixer. Had it for years and plug my bass and fender strat directly into it for practice.
Got my phone running into the tape input for tunes and instrument in line 1. Gain at mid and volume at about 10 o'clock and it's plenty loud.
Not using a DI.
Will the pedals blow/harm the mixer?
I've looked at getting a little Orange Crush Mini or a little head like the Orange Terror. But before I drop 60 to 150 bucks I wanted to see if the direct approach with what I have will work.
I just need to be able to practice with headphones, mp3 player and my pedals.

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Save my marriage...or at least her sanity-20190902_114433.jpg  
Old 2nd September 2019
Gear Maniac

That will not harm your mixer.

It will probably not sound very nice.
A mixer is not a very good substitute of a guitar amp + speaker.
Old 2nd September 2019
Here for the gear

Thank you. What do you recommend for best sound playing into headphones only?
Small amp?
DI box to mixer?
Old 2nd September 2019
You need a DI box with cabinet simulator such as the UAD OX, or an amp with its own inbuilt cab sim and headphone out, or failing either of those a sim of some sort.
Old 2nd September 2019