The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Guitars for sale     Latest  Trending
More pro sounding guitars?
Old 8th August 2019
Gear Nut

So I've been recording in some fashion for the last 5-6 years and done some heavier records. I think the basic level for starting on heavy guitars is to do 2 tracks panned hard left and right to get that big full sound. I feel like it sounds pretty decent, but not quite pro-level.

I was wondering if anyone had any advice on where to go from there for the next big leap. I have read some articles and watched some videos and I know sometimes there are room mics involved, DI signals, 2 amps recorded through an ABY. Does anyone have any advice on getting a bigger, more full distorted guitar sound? Lately I've been using an SM57 and MD421 through an analog mixer, then mono out to my interface.

-Daz
Old 8th August 2019
Lives for gear

Bigger, wider, more full guitars come from the differences between the two sides. Try using different chord voicings, different guitars, different different amps, speakers/cabs, different mics,different mic positions, etc. oin order to get a second track that compliments the first track rather than duplicates it exactly.
Old 8th August 2019
Gear Nut
Quote:
Originally Posted by tedtan View Post
Bigger, wider, more full guitars come from the differences between the two sides. Try using different chord voicings, different guitars, different different amps, speakers/cabs, different mics,different mic positions, etc. oin order to get a second track that compliments the first track rather than duplicates it exactly.
Makes sense. Thanks! Do you think it's worth having a room mic or some kind of non-close mic on the cab?
Old 8th August 2019
Lives for gear