The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Guitars for sale     Latest  Trending
Low budget in need of a certain kind of amp
Old 6th August 2019
Here for the gear

Low budget in need of a certain kind of amp

Hey all! I'm on a low budget and can spend about 300 Euro in a guitar amp. If it's in the 200-300 range much better.

I'm a pro in the sense that I've gone on international tours and recorded several albums, but recently moved to another continent so I had to sell all my stuff (and use the money for other things!)

I'm looking for an amp that hopefully fulfills these criteria:

1) Perform well at low volumes, for practicing at home and recording in small studios.
2) If it's a modeling amp with good overdrives, cleans and some FX that lets me gig without the need of stomps, so much better.
3) Regarding item 2, if it lets me use my DAW to automate patch changes I would be very happy (Sometimes for convenience I simply automated Guitar Rig presets with backup tracks that changed whenever needed, then run the output of my interface to an amp, sometimes two amps when I used stereo FX and the venue was worth it)
3) Small & light enough so it's not a pain to carry around to play.
4) Also pardon my ignorance but why most people consider a 40W amp not good enough for live gigs? This is considering RMS or Peak power? I never played live without miking my amps. Whenever I played with 120W RMS amps which was the standard I needed to set the master volume at no more than 4 to get some good monitoring on my guitar in a rock band. In any case, if it's a 100W amp but light and small enough that sounds well in low volume settings I think I got most bases covered.

Also I don't care whether it's a tube or solid state amp. I like them both for their differences

And finally for the life of me how is it that there are no new 60, 65W amp models? All I see is 20, 40 and then jump straight to 100W with some 50W now and then.