The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Guitars for sale     Latest  Trending
I need tips and recommendations for a special situation with guitars.
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear

I need tips and recommendations for a special situation with guitars.

My apologies if this is not the appropriate forum ...

Hi all,

I'm a bedroom guitarist for health reasons. I have good equipment and knowledge of them, a good collection of effects pedals, several amplifiers to tubes and transistors, but as a rule I can only play sitting in my bed.

Normally I use a small Roland Cube Lite and when I can I add some effects, but it is usually complicated for me. Now with the help of some friends we are preparing something more affordable to my personal situation and as I like to play Gilmour, Clapton, Purple and other styles, we are preparing a team that can be near and easily removed from my side, in a kind of car with wheels.

But my main question is to use good quality headphones (at the moment I like the Audio Technica ATH-M50x). The idea is to use a cloned preamplifier (Alembic F-2B already in construction), with the effects that we select and better adapt to these styles. Then the effects will go, to later move to a cabinet simulator (Yerasov IRon Cab) and its output in stereo will go to a good quality headphone amplifier, which I have not chosen yet. The cabinet simulator allows me to insert and control a player with backing tracks, but I wonder if in this way you think that I can get the sound quality and comfort I'm looking for.

The idea is to have something as simple to use and easily remove from the side of my bed, but of course, handling the effects by hand ...