The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Guitars for sale     Latest  Trending
Anything new/better in the effect/amp/cab sim world?
Old 29th May 2019
Gear Nut

Anything new/better in the effect/amp/cab sim world?

Hi guys,

I haven't had the time to spend much time online researching the subject lately, so I am curious about the newest developments in the amp/effect/cab simulation world.

I have been recording guitars for 25 years using the traditional methods, and still own and use all the proper pedals, amps, speakers, microphones and preamps to do it that way, I also record direct and reamp quite a bit.

I bought one of the first "kidney" pod from line 6 in 1998, and I guess I stayed somewhat happy with them because I own a Helix and the Helix native plugin which I use quite a bit by convenience, as well as scuffham sgear.

I have owned but didn't like the NI, waves and amplitube stuff.

I GUESS MY QUESTION IS: is there anything newer/better than the Helix or S-gear?

IMO the effects and modelled pedals of the Helix are great but I have always found the amps a bit sterile, even heavily tweaked and into quality IRs.

What do you guys think about Bias, Brainworx, Uad, Plini etc? Has anything come up that sounds better? More organic?

I should mention that I am looking for clean to lead sounds and everything in between but not as far as downtuned metal etc.

Thanks in advance for your comments! :-)
Old 29th May 2019
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fantomaz View Post
Hi guys,

I haven't had the time to spend much time online researching the subject lately, so I am curious about the newest developments in the amp/effect/cab simulation world.

I have been recording guitars for 25 years using the traditional methods, and still own and use all the proper pedals, amps, speakers, microphones and preamps to do it that way, I also record direct and reamp quite a bit.