The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Guitars for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Should I ditch my rig for a Fender Blues Deville?
Old 16th April 2019
Here for the gear
Should I ditch my rig for a Fender Blues Deville?

Hey y'all!

The title of this sums up my question, but here's some backstory for those interested.

I currently use a Fender Bassbreaker 15, and a Marshall DSL15. I run either amp through a Marshall cabinet depending on what I'm feeling any given day. The Marshall cab has trashed factory speakers that often leave me wanting more.

I'm not sure how much of my lack of enjoyment in my tone comes from the cabinet and bad speakers, or the amps that I'm currently employing. I'm relatively new to searching for better tone, so this has been a struggle for me to figure out.

I know that I want more present/clear cleans, but at the same time I'd also love good breakup/70's rock tone.

This is where the Fender Blues Deville comes in. A music store about an hour away with a great reputation is selling a pre-owned Fender Blues Deville for $600. Cosmetically it's not great, but the store says it works perfectly. If this is accurate, that means it has four good sounding Alnico speakers, much better than the factory speakers in my Marshall cab. I mostly do home recording, but there's also potential for some light gigging as well.

I wanted to see if anyone had experience with this amp, and would be willing to share their experience.

Thanks so much for your time!
Old 16th April 2019
Lives for gear

You might try a lot of different amps before locking onto one. The store should have a variety. If there is a Guitar Center anywhere hear you, bring your own guitar and spend some time trying out a bunch.