The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Guitars for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Repairing a Vox Pathfinder 15R
Old 15th September 2018
Gear Nut

Repairing a Vox Pathfinder 15R

I love my Vox Pathfinder 15R but something weird happened today.

I was removing some dust round the knobs and suddenly there was a click and the treble-knob turned past the stop; so turning all around.
At this point it didn't affect the sound much yet but soon after that the bass-knob had the same problem; like they both lost the connection with the pots/like the pots came loose or something. Now the sound is gone unless I crank up the gain-knob; then there's still some sound.

I suspect it shouldn't be so hard to fix it; it seems like more of a mechanical defect, but I'm not an experienced electrician. I've been looking for some diy-repair-instructions online but haven't found much.

Can someone here give me some advice on this? I don't want to retire my Pathfinder yet.

Last edited by ErikV; 15th September 2018 at 11:14 PM.. Reason: clarification
Old 16th September 2018
Quote:
Originally Posted by ErikV View Post
I love my Vox Pathfinder 15R but something weird happened today.

I was removing some dust round the knobs and suddenly there was a click and the treble-knob turned past the stop; so turning all around.
At this point it didn't affect the sound much yet but soon after that the bass-knob had the same problem; like they both lost the connection with the pots/like the pots came loose or something. Now the sound is gone unless I crank up the gain-knob; then there's still some sound.

I suspect it shouldn't be so hard to fix it; it seems like more of a mechanical defect, but I'm not an experienced electrician. I've been looking for some diy-repair-instructions online but haven't found much.

Can someone here give me some advice on this? I don't want to retire my Pathfinder yet.