The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Guitars for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Bought Old Marshall Cabinet for $475 - how did I do? Electric Guitar Amplification
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

Bought Old Marshall Cabinet for $475 - how did I do?

I went into Guitar Center today and they had literally just put this cabinet on the floor. I bought it for $475 (was marked $499). They let me take the back off to check out the speakers but I can't take it home for a month as they have a 30 day hold on used gear before it can leave the store in case it's stolen.

I tried it for about 2 minutes to make sure it wasn't blown. Used a BF Bassman and it sounded great.

Anyone know what year this is or what it's worth? I like B cabs vs A cabs and actually went in looking for a B cab, so this is great. I'm guessing it's late 70s but I am not an expert on these.

Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear

What it's worth depends entirely on what you bought it for - to play or to sell. If that was "to play" then you already have your answer - "it sounded great".
Old 5 days ago
The speakers appear to be upside down...
Old 5 days ago
Gear Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by John Eppstein View Post
The speakers appear to be upside down...
Does that mean the highs come out of the bottom?
Old 5 days ago
Lives for gear

I think I paid around $350 for a slant cab maybe 10 years or so. It had 4X75w Celestin's (which sell for over $200 each new).
The only flaw was ugly brown Grill Cloth from the 70's that looked like an ugly burlap bag all stretched out. I bought some large basket weave and replaced it. Pretty easy to do. Simply unscrew the Baffle and staple a new one in place. I had enough left over to also put a piece on my Valvestate head so the whole thing matches.
Old 5 days ago
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Hahn View Post
Does that mean the highs come out of the bottom?