The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Guitars for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Which guitar to contrast with Telecaster? Effects Pedals, Units & Accessories
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Head

Which guitar to contrast with Telecaster?

Hi,

I am looking for an electric to provide a different contrasting sound to my Telecaster - ie. humbuckers, thick tone, long sustain etc. I am a studio musician so using my guitars DI'd into amp sims. Budget around £1k but less if poss!

I had in mind a Les Paul studio, but tried a Gretsch Pro Jet the other day and quite like it.

I would appreciate any suggestions for other good guitars in the £400-£1000 range which really offer something different to a Tele, thanks!
Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Addict

Both an LP and a Gretsch are light years away from a Tele in sound, so pick which guitar you like best (not just sound, but playability, too). An LP is thicker sounding than a Gretsch, though, and is certainly the more-recorded sound.
Old 2 weeks ago

An ES-330T is a very different animal....

-tINY

Old 2 weeks ago
Gear Maniac
Old 2 weeks ago
RTR
Lives for gear

I just bought a fender Modern Player Telecaster Thinline Deluxe, i wanted to have some P90s, sounds NOTHING like a tele and works out well when mixed in with my other LP's, teles, and strats
Old 2 weeks ago
Lives for gear

I bought my first Tele in 1973. I already had a Les Paul and used bother together for years.
Back then you didn't have allot of effects pedals so you simply cranked the amp up to get drive tones. The tele didn't drive the amp into saturation like the Paul did with its humbuckers.

I still own a Paul and Tele plus many others. I'd still have no problem gigging with the two of them but it does cause problems when running effects pedals because the pickups in each are different so I have to tweak settings when switching between them.