The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Guitars for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Digital Echos/delays VS Pedals VS vst What difference ?
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Digital Echos/delays VS Pedals VS vst What difference ?

Hi there ! I've been playing the guitar for more than 10 years but I'm still a gear Newbie so I'd like to ask a few questions.

I like big echoey sounds, so I searched and found the most interesting gear to me : DL4 from line6, Boss Delay, TC 2290 and Eventide H8000 etc.

Of course those two last are waaay too expensive for me now. But I've been wondering, What's the difference between a digital rack like the TC 2290 and let's say a VST/plugin that is...Also digital ? (silly question I know but I have no idea how it's made). And what's the Delay pedal doing compared to the digital rack ?

And to a large extent... Is it possible to have a similar sound with let's say the Space Designer in Logic Pro or any "In the box" recording/mixing ? or with a combination of the DL4 and some digital delays from the DAW ?

Thanks for your time and response.
Old 1 week ago
Gear Maniac

Hi!! You are asking gigantic questions. The easiest way to answer is, "there are similarities and differences." Digital delay, reverb means, "software." In the case of a delay pedal, or rack unit the software is hard wired into the processor/pedal, in the case of a vst effect the software needs a host/daw.