The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Amps that are similar to the UAD Marshall Bluesbreaker?
Old 10th January 2017
Amps that are similar to the UAD Marshall Bluesbreaker?

Obviously the Marshall Bluesbreaker 1962...

But are there others I should look into?

Currently I am amp-less, and I've been using the UAD Marshall Bluesbreaker 62 amp sim when I play. I love it. I think it sounds great. Currently, I use it for clean tones that have a bit of a bite - no high gain sounds here. But I'll be looking to buy an amp in the next 12 months (for recording and small gigs) and I want to have an idea of what to look for before I start testing amps in person.

In the past I've owned a Peavey Delta 30 and a Fender Champ 600. I wasn't thrilled with either of these and bought them because I could afford them and didn't really know much about guitar amps (still don't, but I'm learning now). I've been playing for 15 years and am setting up a small recording setup (synths, guitar, drum machine, vocals).

My only guitar at the moment is a 2015 Gibson ES-339 Studio, and I almost always use the neck pickup. The songs I'm writing are influenced by dub, post-rock, and alt-country (like a session with Tortoise and Wilco, mixed by King Tubby). My price range for an amp is $1k to $4k. Preferably something 35 watts or under. Looking for a full-range clean channel that can bite. Tremolo is a huge plus.

What would you suggest? Is the new Marshall Bluesbreaker 62 a good deal?
Old 11th January 2017
Funny i just demoed that same plugin last night!

I can get reasonably close with my BB preamp pedal from Xotic ( BB stands for Blues Breaker) - the pedal was designed to emulate those tones. I run mine in front of a Mesa Lonestar special combo - it sounds great on the clean or dirty channel. You can probably do better with the budget you have, but not a bad option to check out if you already have a decent amp. It's a great overdrive pedal regardless.