The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search Reviews   Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Roland A 49

Roland A-49 - Black

4.65 4.65 out of 5, based on 1 Review

49 key MIDI / USB controller with excellent feel

26th March 2014

Roland A-49 - Black by johnnyv

• Sound Quality N/A
  • Ease of use 5 out of 5
  • Features 4 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 5 out of 5
  • Overall: 3.5
Roland A 49

I would think pretty much everyone who uses a DAW also uses a Keyboard Controller.
MIDI is a huge part of creating tracks with a DAW and you don't have to be a keyboard player to use one.

I've been recording with MIDI since 1985. ( Atari 1040st). I can play well enough to get by with a bit (or lot) of editing afterwards. I'm not a synth player, mostly I record traditional keyboard parts, Piano, Wurlitzer, Leslie Organ and Drums.

My first keyboard was a Korg Poly 800. My second keyboard which I still have, is a Roland PC180. Basically the same layout and size as A 49. Note: it was made in Italy and the A 49 is now made in China. After 25 years of playing snare drum the D3 key is now triggering at full velocity. I was becoming tired of having to edit that one note.

In searching for a new keyboard I was pleased to find that Roland still offered what looked like my PC180. I was even more pleased to find that the price was less than I paid back in 1990. But best of all, it is loaded with way more features.

I bought it at a music store where I did try all the others they had on display. In the below $400 Price range, the A49 had the best FEEL. Some were just plain cheap feeling. Even though I'm no professional keyboard player, I do like to play a real instrument, not a toy.