The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search Reviews   Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
SSL AlphaLink MX 16-4

Solid State Logic Alpha-Link MX 16-4 Xtreme 64

4.5 4.5 out of 5, based on 1 Review

A very reliable and great sounding converter that just doesn't get the praise and acknowledgement it deserves. A real no-brainer at this price point!

18th March 2014

Solid State Logic Alpha-Link MX 16-4 Xtreme 64 by Ziga

• Sound Quality 4 out of 5
  • Ease of use 5 out of 5
  • Features 4 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 5 out of 5
  • Overall: 4.5
SSL AlphaLink MX 16-4

First my background, for the rest of the review to make a bit more sense. I'm a semi-pro recording/mixing engineer with a small facility that evolved from a home studio. Nothing huge and expensive, but still not the typical home studio any more.

I've bought these converters after owning first an RME unit and then the AlphaLink AX 24i/o for a short time. I've also used and heard the Digi/Avid blue and black HD i/o units, Apogee AD-16X, and regularly work on Studer Vista and Lawo Mc2-56 consoles, which are broadcast oriented units but still cost an arm and a leg and sound fantastic.

Sound

The SSL converters sound amazing in comparison to all those up there in the previous paragraph, at a very, very attractive price. What struck me at the first listen was the accuracy of the sound field, the spatial placing and the reverb tails. That, I think, signifies a good clocking architecture and careful design of high frequency parasitic phenomena and filtering.