The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Advanced Audio CM87se

Advanced Audio Microphones CM87se

5 5 out of 5, based on 1 Review

Bang-for-the-buck has a new meaning, high-end results at low-end prices.

6th November 2013

Advanced Audio Microphones CM87se by dbgear

• Sound Quality 5 out of 5
  • Ease of use 5 out of 5
  • Features 5 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 5 out of 5
  • Overall: 5
Advanced Audio CM87se

After years of scrimping by with fairly cheap gear I decided to layout some money to revamp my studio. I've been engineering and playing in bands since 1994 and have spent time in some really great studios. One of my bands owns a vintage Neumann U87 and I have used several vintage U47's. Initially I was on the search for another vintage U87 with the intention of using it and our other U87 as drum overhead mics. After much thought and deliberation I decided to take a chance and order two Advanced Audio CM87se mics. So for about 1/2 the price of one vintage Neumann, I had two FET condenser mics. Honestly, I felt a little nervous about my decision, but that didn't last long.

Upon receiving the microphones I eagerly dug into the package and was pleasantly surprised how the whole package looked better than I expected. In the package you will find a sturdy metal padded case, a good quality, screw-on, shock mount, the microphone, and a leatherette pouch. The microphone has three switches, a -10db pad, a low cut, and three patterns, cardioid, figure 8, and omni. In terms of overall look they don't match up to Neumann or other $2500+ mics, but these things were only US$600/ea, so you can't expect top dollar cosmetics. All that said, I personally like the way they look, and anyone who has seen them is impressed. It would only be extreme gear snobs that might be judgmental about these non-Neumann microphones. My intention is to impress with sounds anyway rather than showing off my gear and so far I've hit that mark many times over.