The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Apple GarageBand for iPad

4.5 4.5 out of 5, based on 1 Review

Feel like a pro in just a few hours and for little cost.

22nd September 2013

Apple GarageBand for iPad by musicus

• Sound Quality 4 out of 5
  • Ease of use 5 out of 5
  • Features 4 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 5 out of 5
  • Overall: 4.5

Wow, I can't believe there's not a single review of Apple's GarageBand on here yet!

I am an experienced musician but a total newbie in modern digital recording. So I started with a low-cost introduction: GarageBand for iPad.

After a week of playing with it, I am blown away. Maybe it's just that I have no frame of reference of better gear, but from a rank beginner's perspective, this is really an ideal way to start out.

First, at just $4.99 at time of writing, you can't get a much cheaper first foray into DAW's. Plus, it's an industry standard with millions of installs - meaning it reliably installs itself and works just fine. Once you click "buy", you are up and running within minutes without any further intervention or set up on your part. It's pretty much risk and stress free. The only stress I experienced was that this is by far the largest app I've ever downloaded so it took much longer to download than I'm used to and I wondered if everything was ok - but it was.

Then, once installed - it's astounding how obvious the basic functions are. It opens ready to start recording your first song, presenting you with a horizontal scrolling selection of instruments to choose from. But first you spend a little time trying out the instruments.