The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search Reviews   Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Marshall MG10CF

Marshall MG10CF

4.5 4.5 out of 5, based on 1 Review

Great practice amp!

25th July 2013

Marshall MG10CF by Nikhil Suresh

• Sound Quality 5 out of 5
  • Ease of use 5 out of 5
  • Features 3 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 5 out of 5
  • Overall: 4.5

Wow, what a nice practice amp!

after weeks of demoing out various amps, small-medium size, I finally stumbled across an MG10CF in a local guitar shop, and even though i tested it with ****ty intro level ltd guitar, it sounded quite nice. just bought it today for $90

i tried out various other practice amps, like the laney lx12, the roland microcube (which i owned shortly when i just started playing), the line 6 spider 3 (15 watt, 30 watt and 75 watt)... the fender mustang II, some orange amp, the marshall mg30fx and also the marshall mg15cf (which is a 15 watt version of this with eq).. and well, to be honest this just seemed like the best fit for me.

This model, the mg10cf, just sounded much cleaner and warmer than the other amps mentioned, and the OD channel was quite pleasing, unlike the other amps in the price range such as the microcube and the lx12. The microcube just sounded absolutely digital and harsh, and the laney and not defined enough, just somehow lacking in terms of gain.... the other mg series were just too muddy and orange was absolute **** with od.

im quite picky with my od tones now, and this just seemed to do the trick, especially paired with the digitech tl-2 pedal, it sounded quite surprisingly sweet. even without the pedal, this amp sounded just right to me. the downside is that there is no eq on the thing, only a volume for the clean channel, gain knob, volume for the gain channel, and a contour knob.