The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search Reviews   Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Auria 48 track mixer iPad app

WaveMachine Labs Auria Pro

4.4 4.4 out of 5, based on 2 Reviews

If you don't mind the limits Apple has placed on file transferring - it's a real bargain.

10th August 2012

WaveMachine Labs Auria Pro by louparte

• Sound Quality 4 out of 5
  • Ease of use 4 out of 5
  • Features 3 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 5 out of 5
  • Overall: 4

I'm not a professional engineer. I'm strictly a home user. So if I left some details out or got something wrong, please correct me.

I'm using an iPad 2 with an Alesis i/o Dock. I also use Presonus Audiobox. I bought Auria this week for $49.95 at the App Store. I also bought the optional two reverbs and the Micro-Warmer plugs.

There is good news and bad news. I think the good news outweighs the bad news. But I'll give you the bad news first. This is an iPad app. The limitations to the software are mainly imposed by Apple. The low grade I gave for "Features" was caused by the limits Apple has placed on the iPad.

For example, you can't just stick in a USB stick or SD card into your iPad and load an audio file. No no no.

You can buy an Apple camera connector - but even that won't load audio files onto your iPad & Auria. (If I'm wrong about that - someone please correct me. I bought one and tried it today. It was a no-go.)

In order to load existing audio files into this app, you have to use the cloud somewhere. Dropbox is one option provided for by Auria. iTune file-sharing is another. And loading from Dropbox takes a long time if you're working with wave files.

Here's another bit of bad news and it's related to the first. Since you can't just import audio files in a simple way. You can't export them in a simple way either. Auria exports in a format called AAF (Advanced Authoring Format). Some DAW's are compatible with AAF files. Others aren't. Caveat emptor.