The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search Reviews   Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
ProAc Studio 115

ProAc Studio 115

4.75 4.75 out of 5, based on 1 Review

ProAc is UK manufacturer mostly known to mixing engineers as makers of ProAc Studio 100 passive studio monitors. ProAc Studio 115 is newly designed passive studio monitor and when I got them to listen in my modest home studio setup I didn't know what to expect.

17th January 2012

ProAc Studio 115 by Veseli

• Sound Quality 5 out of 5
  • Ease of use 5 out of 5
  • Features 5 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 4 out of 5
  • Overall: 4.75
ProAc Studio 115

I'm not experienced reviewer at all but I'm gonna try to describe how did ProAc Studio 115 test session go.
My previous home-studio setup were Genelec's 1030A and pair of Yamaha NS10 powered by Yamaha A100 amp. I've never heard ProAc Studio 100 monitors, or any other from their line so I really didn't know what to hope for.
So, at first I hooked the ProAc Studio 115's to my Yamaha A100 amplifier as I didn't have any other choice. And like this I could compare them to Genelecs.
The ProAc dealer here was so kind to supply two pieces of very good speaker cable from Chord, I think it's called "Silver Screen", so I was ready to go.
First impression was stunning. I played Thomas Dolby's "The Flat Earth" CD and immediately was struck with large and incredibly detailed sound stage which remained entirely in phase and whole as I walked across the entire room, not just at sweet spot. My control room is well treated so no excess of bass or any other frequency could spoil the party. Comparing ProAc Studio 115's with Genelec's 1030A was even more surprising.
The difference between these two sounded to me a bit like difference you experience when you switch between Genelec's and Yamahas NS10.