The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search Reviews   Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
KRK KNS8400 Studio Headphones

KRK Systems KNS 8400

4.65 4.65 out of 5, based on 9 Reviews

Very accurate, refined, flat monitoring for studio use on a budget, with only very minor complaints.

16th January 2012

KRK Systems KNS 8400 by j.wal

• Sound Quality 5 out of 5
  • Ease of use 5 out of 5
  • Features 4 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 5 out of 5
  • Overall: 4.75

For pretext, I'm only an amateur hip hop producer. So take what you will from this review.

I came to the 8400's via a broken pair of Sony 7506's. I liked my Sony's a lot, was always amazed at their detail and accuracy (at the time), but didn't want to go through the cost and trouble of repairing them. Enter KRK. At first my 8400's sounded slightly underwhelming with sub-par bass response. I burned them in for 50+ hours and they sound significantly better. The bass is still not powerful, but it IS there and it is accurate. If you want something a little more colored (and bassy) but still monitoring-capable, Audio Technica or Beyerdynamic may have what you're looking for, from what I've read. My impression of the KRKs is that they are no-frill, professional monitors at an affordable cost (not paying for any gimmicks). Along with the accurate bass, all other levels (mids, highs) are very well and evenly represented too. One thing I've noticed with KRK's is less fatiguing mids/highs at higher volumes, something the 7506's plagued me with at times. The KRK's are more balanced. The KRK's are also slightly more detailed than my 7506's as well, particularly in that I'm noticing more flaws in recordings than I did before.