The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search Reviews   Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Digidesign RM2

Avid RM2

5 5 out of 5, based on 1 Review

My impressions of a great set of monitors...

9th December 2011

Avid RM2 by gward

• Sound Quality 5 out of 5
  • Ease of use 5 out of 5
  • Features 5 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 5 out of 5
  • Overall: 5
Digidesign RM2

I’ve been mixing on Yamaha MSP5s for the last 6 years but was looking to take my mixing/mastering to the next level. I had been eyeing the PMC range of monitors and after hearing some PMCs courtesy of Greg Reierson at Rare Form Mastering, that kind of sealed the deal for me and I went on the hunt. I had my heart set of TB2 AIIs or AML1s but the $3899 on up price tags seemed out of my reach. While doing more research I ran across a very favourable SOS review of the Digidesign RM2 speakers designed by PMC. I also read an interview with the designer Peter Thomas at PMC where he talked about the collaboration with Digidesign. He said when they were prototyping, the use of Hypex Class D amps and some new design tweaks in the RM2s allowed them to get dangerously close to the performance of the AML1($10000 at that time) for less than half the price. Essentially they are PMCs through and through with a Digidesign logo on the front.

Now, I must admit that for mostly ego reasons, I was pretty dead set against buying monitors that said Digidesign on the front. But after much rationalizing, mental anguish, and a harsh slap of monetary reality, I found a great deal on a mint pair of RM2s on ebay and decided to go for it.