The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Roland A-88MKII

Roland A-88MKII

4.35 4.35 out of 5, based on 1 Review

A review of the Roland A-88 Mk2 by an armature musician humbly submitted because little seemed to exist about this product.

4 weeks ago

Roland A-88MKII by insectile

• Sound Quality N/A
  • Ease of use 5 out of 5
  • Features 4 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 4 out of 5
  • Overall: 3.25
Roland A-88MKII

I am a software developer and not a professional musician. I was interested in a new 88 key controller keyboard, and for reasons I will discuss below I gravitated to the A-88 mk2. It is a new product and I didn't find much out there to read about it. So I humbly submit this review for anyone interested.

I have played piano on and off since I was young, and I currently have a Yamaha U1 piano as my baseline for comparison. I have also previously owned a Roland P1, K2000, Akai MPK Mini Mk2, and Yamaha PSR4600. I've played on quite a few upright pianos. The piano teacher I had during my teens had a small grand piano. I was never in a mind set there that I could actually assess the keybed, so I think we can assume that I have no basis for comparison for grand pianos.

I set up a minimal desk all-in-the-box sort of thing with a Roland A-49 in the last couple years and I really, really liked the A-49. I know it basically has no noteworthy features (other than its weird proximity sensor thing), but I like how the keys feel and I like the pitch/mod wheel thing.

Yes that thing everyone hates, I like - so work that into your reading of this review. I think its great for expressive playing of a lot of EastWest's stuff. If you are a NI person then maybe it doesn't work as well, but I just map one of the knobs to the filter (or whatever) on NI instruments and then it works like the classic mod wheel. I can understand if you are really into having a mod wheel, that solution won't work for you. ...but it works for me.