The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Akai Professional Mini Play

3 3 out of 5, based on 1 Review

Works as advertised, but not so good a keyboard, lackluster patches, and not very much control over the synth/keyboard elements.

23rd April 2019

Akai Professional Mini Play by twinreverb

• Sound Quality 2 out of 5
  • Ease of use 3 out of 5
  • Features 2 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 5 out of 5
  • Overall: 3

This was my first keyboard. A little background: I went to college primarily for piano for 3.5 years and accomplished a good junior piano recital. Definitely not my first rodeo. So when I saw how cheap this is, I decided to buy it. I did so because, even though I am primarily an electric guitarist at this stage in my life, I have dabbled in pads to help my church improve its sound. It's time for me to have my own way to help.

Out of the box, it has a good electric piano factory preset, as well as a couple decent pad, string, and bass presets. Of the 128 factory presets, really the only ones that are usable for live music are about a dozen of them. The rest, focusing on simulating real acoustic instruments like flutes, guitars, etc, aren't worth using in my opinion because it's like they're trying to hard to simulate the real instrument but their budget doesn't match the level of complexity required to simulate it. Or maybe the onboard electronics aren't of sufficient complexity to be able to handle it.

Now you can do a lot of cool modifications to the patches it contains and save those to presets. I found 8 user presets to be more than enough. However, you don't have the level of control you would have with a real synth.

As a MIDI controller, it works as advertised. I couldn't figure out how to get the knob positions to be transmitted over MIDI, but all the keys work fine.