The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search Reviews   Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
IGS AUDIO Volfram Limiter

4.75 4.75 out of 5, based on 1 Review

1176 -style limiter, dual mono

2 weeks ago

IGS AUDIO Volfram Limiter by poika

• Sound Quality 5 out of 5
  • Ease of use 4 out of 5
  • Features 5 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 5 out of 5
  • Overall: 4.75

First of all, I have zero experience with other 1176 -type limiters, so you might want to take that into consideration. I have also only recently begun to invest in quality hardware, so my opinions and thoughts here reflect the fact that I am still pretty much a novice when it comes to hardware.
In addition to the Volfram, I have in my rack a DBX 166XL, an SSL Stereo Bus Compressor clone and a Klark Teknik KT-2A, so I do have some basic understanding of different types of comps/limiters.

The Volfram Limiter is a 2-channel, dual mono unit that has all the basic features that you would find in a 1176, no need going through them here. The pots are all stepped, so it’s convenient in getting the settings exactly the same - either for the left and right channels, or for re-visiting old settings.

What’s really nice about this unit is that there are a couple of extra features: a high pass filter sidechain for filtering out low frequencies (60, 90, 120, 180 and 240hz) and a dry/wet switch. both of these are very handy indeed! All gear should have them,as far as I’m concerned.. It’s super convenient having the option to dial in the amount of parallel compression on the unit itself, and not having the lower frequencies dictate the compression. Especially when using it on bass heavy music, as I am.

I’ve been using this thing on vocals, bass, drums, synths - well basically anything really. Haven’t gotten anything to sound worse coming out than going in, so finding use has not been a problem.