The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search Reviews   Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
CEntrance R4

CEntrance MixerFace R4

4.65 4.65 out of 5, based on 2 Reviews

The HQ mobile recording interface you've been waiting for

2nd November 2018

CEntrance MixerFace R4 by mtingle

• Sound Quality 5 out of 5
  • Ease of use 4 out of 5
  • Features 5 out of 5
  • Bang for buck 4 out of 5
  • Overall: 4.5
CEntrance R4

I've been waiting for this device every since it was announced as an Indiegogo project many years ago. Its been a long wait but it is finally here and it's been worth it!

What I wanted out of a mobile recording device was to be able to record audio to an ipad in high quality using a truly portable interface. As a musician I sometime need to di a bass or guitar so an interface that also had a hi-z input would be perfect as there would be no need for a di box that would add extra baggage to the setup.

For my needs the R4 actually delivers on all my requirements. It records in high enough quality to be able to use on my CD album releases and has the flexibility to record on the road with decent battery life and be able to handle a variety of sound sources including phantom powered mics (true 48v by all accounts).

I wont go through all the spec details, these are easy to find on the centrance website. I can give a little bit of feedback on having used it for a while.

1. get a USB 3.0 CCK. The USB 2.0 CCK version has a glitch that made it drop out on my setup.
2. there's no input limiter so you need to keep an eye on the levels.
3. You'll need to carry a paper clip as you need something small to poke in a change the dip switches if you'd like to adjust the phantom power / hi-z / High pass filter.

Also it's a little pricey but you do get the quality you're after.

I could live without the dip switches, that a side this is exactly what I've been waiting for to record myself and other artists with my mobile recording studio.